Western Undergraduate Exchange Universities (WUE)

Your geography can translate into savings! If you’re from one of the 15 states participating in the Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) program, this list includes public institutions in neighboring states where your student could attend and receive a tuition discount. The participating WUE states are Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.


Provided in this list is a direct link to specific details on WUE requirements for each school. Our list includes:

  • All public 4-year universities participating in the WUE program.
  • Public universities that are NOT part of the WUE program.
  • WUE tuition discount amounts.
  • Approximated cost of attendance that includes the WUE tuition discount.
  • Designation of whether the WUE award is automatic or requires competitive GPAs and test scores to receive the WUE discount.

Please note that each participating university has different requirements, and not all majors are part of the WUE program and will vary at each university.

Explore Solutions is a 501(c) (3) tax-exempt community-based organization.